Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
amy_hasinoff
Community Participant

Please fix this. I teach on media topics and the ability for each student to easily add an image into their posts is so important. Attaching is not a good solution since it's too cumbersome to click and download each attachment. I want students to be able to scroll through 30 posts, each with one image, and easily pick which one they want to comment on.

Though it's possible for them to upload to Canvas Files and then embed, this is far too many steps for something that should be easy. Many get frustrated and give up.

RhondaB
Community Explorer

Is there any word on this? Students need the ability to embed images from their computers.

kona
Community Coach
Community Coach