Word Count

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Can we get a word count tool for our courses?

Well, I don't know about a word count minimum requirement.  I was just thinking put something in like the corner of the text box or in the toolbar where it shows how many words have been written.  Yeah, I've had assignments where I had to have a 300 word minimum, and would have to copy and paste it into Word to figure out if I had enough.  I think this is an easy script to make, but I don't want to assume anything since I have very little programming experience or ability.

Comments from Instructure

For more information, please read through the https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-14438-canvas-production-release-notes-2018-04-21 .

133 Comments
scottdennis
Instructure
Instructure

Hi  @jen ​,

Not to detract from your comment or stated need but just to be clear; that would need to be a separately built feature for sure.

jen
Community Contributor

Thanks, Scott. I submitted it as a new request here:

jonathan_carlyo
Community Novice

Dear Group,

I am leading a group to Spain to take a class while walking along the Camino de Santiago. They will need to do numerous activities on their phones using the CANVAS web app. For these, I am assigning word-counts as the delimiter, e.g., write 150 words on X,Y, or Z. I am particularly interested in this feature for the app.

It would be GREAT to have a reference to the word count for the students to see while they are typing, like Twitter, but for word instead of characters. Or perhaps there is an App workaround similar to those bxf13b suggests.

Thanks!

Jonathan

steven_pounders
Community Member