Forking a combined course as topics diverge

Jump to solution
zvsmedia
Community Member

My first goal is to ask this question clearly. If I haven't, any help on that front would be appreciated.

I'm an instructor/designer. I teach a computer literacy course that for enrollment purposes combines two similar computer literacy courses. They are identical for the first half of the courses. However, they diverge in content for the second half. 

My goal is to cleanly fork the class at the point at which they diverge. Ideally each group would only see the content associated with that group to avoid cluttering up the course; they are frosh students so confusion is more of an issue than it might be otherwise.

I'd like to figure out the best, cleanest, cleanest "official" way to do this as I may be using this course as a work sample for application to other schools. I'm comfortable with light coding.

If I were to use Mastery Paths, would students only see the modules relevant to their paths? I could set up a quiz in when students could choose true/false that they were in a specific part of the class?

Thanks so much!

Labels (1)
0 Likes
2 Solutions
TrishaMeyer1
Community Contributor

Hi @zvsmedia ,

I haven't used Mastery Paths myself, but it is my understanding that what you describe is exactly how it would work. I do think you might have to set up the "choice" quiz for each subsequent Module path unless the second part of the course was contained in one Module (one per path, that is), but I'm not sure about that.

View solution in original post

KristinL
Community Team
Community Team

Hi @zvsmedia -

I think Mastery Paths would be perfect for this approach. Paired with modules, you'll create an awesome learning experience for your students! 🎉

How do I use Mastery Paths in course modules? 

How do I add conditional content to a Mastery Path source item? 

How do I use modules to view the progress of students in a course?