Get files by course is returning a 403

Jump to solution
lindstromc
Community Member

I am writing some course automation and auditing tools using the API.  I am able to call most of the endpoints without problem.  I need to place a JSON file in the course that will contain some versioning information that I need to read to perform the correct audit checks etc.  When I use the Get Files by Course Id endpoint I get a 403 error.  I am a designer for the course.  What permissions do I need to retrieve the list of files then eventually the file from the course.  Or is there a better API or method to do this?

Thanks
Craig Lindstrom

Labels (1)
0 Likes
2 Solutions
James
Community Champion

@lindstromc 

A 403 status code means forbidden, but it may not mean that you don't have the correct permissions within Canvas.

If you are a designer for the course, you almost certainly have the proper permissions within Canvas. Otherwise, it would be difficult for you to do you job. If you can view the files page from the course using the web interface, then it's not a Canvas permissions issue.

You can verify that it works with the API through the web interface as well. Let's say I'm in a course with a Canvas ID 896851. That means that my pathname to my files is /courses/896851/files. If I add /api/v1 in front of that to get /api/v1/courses/896851/files, then I should get the first 10 course files. That is the call that your program makes to get the list of files.