How to get "complete/incomplete" grades to show in exported gradebook

Jump to solution
leslie_irvine
Community Participant

In my classes, I use a combination of number grades on quizzes and "complete/incomplete" on other assignments. In Gradebook on Canvas, the "complete/incomplete" grades show as nice, green checkmarks. Perfect! But when I download the grades, the checkmarks show up as zeros, as you can see in the image. Obviously, this is no good! Can anyone help me resolve this? 

344977_Screenshot (142).png

2 Solutions
Chris_Hofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello @leslie_irvine@mattias_alveteg, and @Olaf_ ...

Full disclosure...  I am a Canvas admin for our College's Canvas environment, and I do not teach course.  So, my experience using the Gradebook isn't as strong as those that do teach courses in Canvas.  That being said, I would like to try and offer some insights...

First, it is unfortunate that Leslie's question has been unanswered.  There may be reasons for this...including that she may have stumped Community members with her question.  So, it is possible that folks here in the Community don't have a good solution to suggest...and thus it has been unanswered.

Next, as you know...Excel is all about rows/columns/cells of data.  Based on the screenshot that Leslie has provided in her OP (Original Posting), I am assuming that the grades she is asking about are in the columns labeled "Critical Re"...as those are the ones that have zeros for student grades in the CSV import image.  When you set up an assignment in Canvas with a "Complete/Incomplete" designation, you can also specify the total number of points possible for the assignment.  For example, in my screenshot (below), I have set this assignment at 10 points, but I have also set it with the "Complete/Incomplete" setting.

CompleteIncompleteGrade.jpg