cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pchase
New Member

Withdrawn and re-enrolled students

Jump to solution

I am trying to find out the best way to handle students that leave our corporation. Is it better to suspend them or delete them? If I delete them will they re-enroll in our school will they re-enroll through the Power School sync like a new student?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
greydon
Community Team
Community Team

Hello @pchase 

Thank you for contacting the Canvas Community. We're sorry to hear you've been experiencing issues with student enrollments. Concluding a student  is likely your best option if there is a chance of the student re-enrolling at a later time. If you fully delete their account, you need to restore it to bring back their old enrollments when they sign up for new courses. Their old courses can still remain hidden from them via course settings, SIS section dates, term dates, etc. Ideally, you only delete users that will not be coming back to the school. You may want to contact Canvas Support and speak with your school CSM to see which option is best to fit your needs.

Here is the Canvas guides:

https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Admin-Guide/How-do-I-suspend-and-reactivate-users-in-an-account/t...

https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Admin-Guide/How-do-I-conclude-a-course-at-the-end-of-a-term-as-an...

https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Admin-Guide/How-do-I-delete-a-user-from-an-account/ta-p/136

You can also bulk inactivate  students and conclude them from courses via csv SIS import:

https://canvas.instructure.com/doc/api/file.sis_csv.html 

 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
1 Reply
greydon
Community Team
Community Team

Hello @pchase 

Thank you for contacting the Canvas Community. We're sorry to hear you've been experiencing issues with student enrollments. Concluding a student  is likely your best option if there is a chance of the student re-enrolling at a later time. If you fully delete their account, you need to restore it to bring back their old enrollments when they sign up for new courses. Their old courses can still remain hidden from them via course settings, SIS section dates, term dates, etc. Ideally, you only delete users that will not be coming back to the school. You may want to contact Canvas Support and speak with your school CSM to see which option is best to fit your needs.

Here is the Canvas guides:

https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Admin-Guide/How-do-I-suspend-and-reactivate-users-in-an-account/t...

https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Admin-Guide/How-do-I-conclude-a-course-at-the-end-of-a-term-as-an...

https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Admin-Guide/How-do-I-delete-a-user-from-an-account/ta-p/136

You can also bulk inactivate  students and conclude them from courses via csv SIS import:

https://canvas.instructure.com/doc/api/file.sis_csv.html 

 

0 Kudos