cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Surveyor II

Access pop up window element

Hi,

How can I access the elements in a pop up window? I want to add and change some text on it. Please see the screenshot. 

thanks

thanks232671_Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 11.19.49 AM.png

17 Replies
Community Member

Are you trying to change content via JavaScript override? If so, are you able to use 'inspect element' on the popup? That content may already exist in the DOM and remains hidden until triggered to popup. You should be able to get access the elements there. 

Hi Nazmus,

Thanks for getting back to me.

Yes, I am trying to use javascript, I am new to js.

On this page, the class name for the title is “DashboardModal__ProductTitle”, so if I want to add “contact us” after the title, I put in the js is

$(‘.DashboardModal__ProductTitle’).append(“contact us”);

is that correct?

thanks again

li

Yeah, that should do it. 

Depending on on how you want that displayed, you may want to enter a space or something, because .append won't do it for you.

You may have already been there, but I'll still leave the link to the jQuery append documentation: http://api.jquery.com/append/ 

The other tip I'll leave is that since you're working with JavaScript, you can test all of your code in the JavaScript console before you put them in the JS override file. To do this (in Chrome), right click anywhere on the page and inspect element >> click on the 'Console' tab and just type in the code you want to run and press enter. It's much faster than having to edit a file, upload that file, save the settings, refresh the page, etc. I do a lot of my testing in the JS Console. 

232762_pastedImage_1.png

If it goes through, you should see the page change content immediately. Then you can copy/paste the code into your JS file and upload it to make it more permanent. 

Good luck!