How can I get started building an LTI external application?

Jump to solution
73396fae490e357
Community Novice

Hello, I am a freelance web developer tasked with adding on some additional functionality to an existing Canvas LMS system. It seems the way to do this is to build and integrate an external LTI application, and I would likely do this in rails. While I have found the documentation on this and the course on building LTI applications, I haven't been able to find anything that clearly explains on a basic level what an LTI app does functionally, how it is structured, and how it interacts with the LMS system. I have the following questions and would greatly appreciate any help I can get getting started.

1. My understanding is that LTI applications are separate free standing applications that are run within the LMS system and share authentication. Is this correct? Several of the following questions are based on this assumption so please correct me if I am wrong and help me understand what LTI applications functionally do.

2. If LTI apps are in fact free standing applications, are they then deployed separately on their own servers with no particular integration with the Canvas LMS system to begin with?

3. If LTI applications are deployed separately, and if they are in fact run from within the LMS system, how do they interact with the LMS system while they are running? In other words, is there some direct interaction between the application and the LMS system, or is it simply rendered within a particular classroom with access to the user's data, say via an iframe?