Configure group navigation list

(8)

The group navigation list should be configurable so that either teacher or student group can choose functionality. Teachers should also be able to lock these settings.

As a teacher I want to be able to select what functionality will be available to a group, and visible in the group navigation menu. In this way I can better control how the group can collaborate. 

10 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Thanks for sharing this idea,  @lotta_frojdfeld ‌. Here's a related idea for your consideration: https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/2579-allow-groups-to-set-homepage 

amber_parker
Community Novice

Would be great to also be able to choose Instructors, Designers, and TAs to not receive announcements from each group! 

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@amberlp ‌, that would need to be considered as a separate idea. Please search through Ideas‌ to see if someone has already suggested it; if they haven't, please share your own after reading How do I create a new feature idea in the Canvas Community?

rodger-ling
Community Member

The "group menu" that replaces the regular menu makes me dizzy.  In what user interface is it considered good design to hide the familiar menu and replace it with a doppleganger menu that isn't even labeled as such?  And there's no easy option to get out of the group and back to the regular menu--you just have to know to click on the breadcrumbs (which of course have also changed when you enter "group world," violating the very idea of breadcrumbs). The entire design needs a re-do, but in the meantime, at least give us the ability to control what appears in that crazy menu. 

mnalim
Community Novice