Import Grade Comments

(23)
Problem:

Instructors need to upload comments for each student for an external assignment and have it displayed in the gradebook view for students.

Use Case:

This is especially significant when uploading assignment scores from an external system (student response "clicker" tools, Scantron services, external learning assessments). Often those external tools have a comments field with important details regarding the student's performance. In some cases the external system includes critical item information (e.g. "You answered A; The correct answer was B").

Proposed Solution:

1. Allow a comments field (column) in the gradebook import csv file.
  2. Display the comment in a similar way that assignment comments are currently handled.
  3. BONUS POINTS: Allow the comments to be exported in the Gradebook export csv
129 Comments
gresham
Community Novice

I'm new to using canvas and I'm finding grading to be rather awkward. Adding in the comment through .csv file would be a really significant improvement/time saver/benefit to students because it would encourage more productive feedback from instructors.

watkinso
Community Novice

yet another feature that should've been there since the beginning but is now thrown into the forgotten pile. Typical for Canvas

jeff_quinlan
Community Explorer

Not sure I'm that cynical, but it would be wonderful if this was adopted soon. I was looking forward to seeing it in 2019, as Canvas had previously planned. 

jsraquet
Community Member

Any idea if this made it on the radar to be incorporated (soon)? I have not seen any progress made but it would be great to know.

JamesAshby
Community Contributor