Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

Thank you for checking back.  We do not have an update yet.  Please follow this idea to receive updates as they are available.

aime_fournier
Community Member

This would be extremely useful for those of us teaching advanced mathematics, which seems to instill more hesitancy to ask questions if one is identified. Re-re-open the vote please.

j_thorpe
Community Novice

I also submitted this request recently, but I have been directed to add it as a comment to this original feed to create further support for it. So here is my request with supporting evidence for the idea. Thank you.

"Many academics have asked me if there is the ability to make student discussion posts anonymous. They believe it would increase student participation as they would feel less self conscious about asking a question or answering someone else's. This would greatly benefit learning, cohort interaction and the relationship between students and staff.

After researching this topic on the internet I have found a number of research articles which support all the above beliefs, as 'invisible' participants are more likely to  participate, make a comment/ ask a question they are more self-conscious about and engage in problem solving with their piers (Blau et al. 2010; Jessup et al. 1990; Blau et al. 2008).