Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
kim_flowers
Community Novice

Is there any update to this at all?

rislis
Community Champion

Looking for an update, too.

merrimad
Community Novice

I teach a class of 216 in a pit. No one asks questions in class, likely out of embarrassment, so Discussions online are the only way.  I found with our old DLE that when anonymous posts are allowed, use of online Discussions SKYROCKETS. My institution is just adopting Canvas, would REALLY like to see this added. 

mcmacdonald
Community Novice

The ability to ask questions anonymously is an ESSENTIAL part of teaching a large class.  With anonymous questions, students actually ask questions, and then other students can learn from them and are then motivated to help out and ask more themselves.  I REALLY want this feature.

naomi_noguchi
Community Member

I teach a postgraduate course for doctors are they often have a professional relationship with other students and tutors and worry about sounding argumentative or ignorant. Please make it possible to post to the online discussion board anonymously.

aime_fournier
Community Member

I had the same experience as Dana except with 66 students. At that time I was grateful our DLE enabled anonymous posts, and I'm disappointed Canvas hasn't gotten the clue yet after at least 4 years' requests. It also helps students to anonymously vent their frustrations and criticisms.