[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
stevensons
Community Contributor

I would also love to see this. A Pages Search tool in particular would be very useful. I have a large number of pages and it would be much easier to be able to search by a keyword in the page title rather than scrolling and scrolling until I find the page I need.
Thanks!

Community Contributor

We would love to see this too.  It would be incredibly helpful for students and faculty in courses, but it would also enable Canvas to be used for other things like faculty or student resource portals, trainings, etc.  We have a Faculty Resource Portal with all kinds of information and resources for all of our faculty, and it acts as a space for faculty to share ideas.  If that resource portal could be searchable, it would be a game changer.  We try to organize content intuitively in modules, but there is just so much in there!

pvanallen
Community Novice