[Groups] Group Roster Export

This is an idea to modify group functionality so one can either export student group lists/rosters to a .csv spreadsheet format OR have groups listed in one of the spreadsheet columns when grades are exported (in the same fashion that Username and course section are included). In large enrollment classes, this is an absolutely essential feature. We use teams to set up tools external to the CMS and there currently is no easy way to access group data in the current Canvas configuration.

Added to Theme

86 Comments
jbrown
Community Participant

@admin_bu_carr  Yes, I believe so. When I tested it, I had to temporarily change the term to Default, then do the export, and then change the term back. I am an admin so I'm not sure you can do that! Once that magic term date starts, it works fine.

npalmo
Community Member

This is an essential function. 

jbrown
Community Participant

@admin_bu_carr  Yes, that is what I experienced. The only way I could get the group exports to work prior to the term start was to change the term to Default term (temporarily), do the export, then change it back to the appropriate term. If you are unable to make that change, it may require an admin to help.

JaniceLe
Community Novice

Download a list of students from self-assigned groups

lssupport
Community Member

Hi,

As we are allowed to create groupings in people list but after creation, there is no export function for us to download this grouping in csv file for our own usage. Thus it would be good to have an export function for this.

Regards,

Kian Koon

DanBurgess
Community Participant

Hi Kian,

I think you can do this by following the steps Download Course Roster CSV File in this guide:  How do I import groups in a group set? 

I tested it out and see that after I added students to groups, the download of the CSV file included the group names. It is arguably not a clear way to generate a listing, but maybe it will work for your needs.

Hope this helps.