[Inbox] Add rich-content editor to Conversations

As a user, I would like to be able to use the rich-content editor to compose messages in the Conversations inbox. This would enable me to create Conversations that are on par, formatting- and content-wise, with Announcements. (Students seem to read Conversations messages more diligently than Announcements.)

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Mia Nolan

Special thanks for contributions by: Stefanie Sanders

230 Comments
lramert
Community Novice

I teach Professional Writing, and one of our earliest assignments is how to write a professional email. Things like formatting matter. After hitting "send" in Inbox, all of the formatting is lost. So, if you had blank lines between paragraphs, they dissappear and there is not even a space between the sentences that ended and started those separate paragraphs. It looks a mess, basically.

I have been complaining about this for a few years (since my institution switched to Canvas). We were never told that Inbox is not analagous to email, and I was surprised when I was told this. Students definitely use it in lieu of email. This may be partly because we switched from Blackboard, and you CAN email from inside Blackboard. Both students and I like to have a "one-stop shop": I don't want to have to sign in to many places. (At my institution, I would have to sign into a THIRD place to send an actual email to a bulk list of my class.)