[Inbox] Add rich-content editor to Conversations

As a user, I would like to be able to use the rich-content editor to compose messages in the Conversations inbox. This would enable me to create Conversations that are on par, formatting- and content-wise, with Announcements. (Students seem to read Conversations messages more diligently than Announcements.)

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Mia Nolan

Special thanks for contributions by: Stefanie Sanders

230 Comments
AdlaiGonzalez
Community Novice

Yes, I totally love this suggestion. I'm new to Canvas, and I'm so far loving it because it just far superior to my previous system: BlackBoard. However, when I was writing an email to a classmate, I realized it's just plain text, and it is kind of frustrating to not have at least a basic editor. I hope they take attention to it, so we can just add one more reason to love Canvas!

VHDL2STA
Community Member

Yes, as I have written in several posts, the Canvas Conversations (email) environment is very weak.

And new Canvas users who are STEM teachers will very quickly realize that the Canvas Math Editor is also very weak. To "correct" this Math Editor weakness Canvas has enhanced the Basic Canvas Math Editor and called this enhancement  "Advanced Math Editor". Unfortunately this Advanced Math Editor requires that users write LaTex code. Our typical Math and Statistics students should not have to learn the complexities of LaTex syntax and semantics. Instead students should create Math and Statistics symbols using icons from pull-down menus as excellently done in Microsoft Office and Blackboard. I have written several posts regarding the weaknesses of the Canvas Math Editor.

LaurenHundley
Community Member

Please bring this to life, Canvas!  It makes no sense that it exists elsewhere on the platform --announcements, discussions, assignments, etc -- but not in direct messaging, and would be extremely helpful.

aeagle
Community Explorer