[New Quizzes] Allow multiple attempts on a quiz, with diminishing points after the first attempt

I am an instructional designer supporting and instructor who is using team based learning. In his course he has students take a quiz individually, then the same quiz as a team. The second team based quiz allows multiple attempts but penalizes the students for each subsequent attempt. The purpose of this is to encourage students to discuss what the correct answer should be before submitting.

This is similar to what is described here: https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Question-Forum/Is-it-possible-to-allow-multiple-attempts-on-a-qui...

Currently in the Canvas Quiz it is possible to keep the highest, or average of scores. It would be helpful to be able to implement this strategy.

Added to Theme

Expand options for quiz formats Theme Status: Identified

18 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

RobDitto
Community Champion

@rexj, please consider adding a star rating on this idea which would be need to be built in order for part of your idea here to be possible:

rexj
Community Participant

Thanks for pointing out the other idea, @RobDitto . Done. 👍

I see the dependency. Hopefully both will be implemented.

RobDitto
Community Champion

Thanks, @rexj! Much appreciated. I've added my 5-star rating here.

JaredVanHooser
Community Member

This is sorely needed and is long overdue as a feature in Canvas. A must for those using team-based learning, especially with the increase in distance/online teaching related to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

NicholeRupnow
Community Novice

Agree- this would increase the learning potential as students in teams would continue to discuss the other options and work together to find the correct answer (after seeing their first selection was not correct). It would allow us to use Canvas instead of finding a different technology for TBL classes. Please consider.

rexj
Community Participant