Upload an image directly to a discussion as a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As a student, I want to be able to upload an image directly to a discussion. I can only do this today using a cludgy, two-step workaround: (1) upload the image to my personal files, then (2) use the content-picker in the discussion-response window to select the image from my files. Instructors can upload images directly to discussions. Students can upload images directly to other parts of Canvas. Seems odd that this use case requires a workaround.

transferred from the old Community
Originally posted by: Sunny Washington
Thank you especially for contributions by: T Beasley, Stefanie Sanders

Comments from Instructure

This is now completed for mobile and web.

For more information, please read through the following release notes:

Canvas Student Release Notes (iOS 6.3) 

Canvas Student Release Notes (Android 6.3) 

https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-15857-canvas-release-notes-2018-11-17 

204 Comments
momillard
Community Novice

Some potential good news for this long awaited feature idea request!  I just read a this canvas post by  @johnmartin ‌, a colleague of mine uw-madison‌.  It discusses "Project Khaki 2.0", which appears to layout the next 6 months or so of development priorities for some of the Instructure development team.  On searching the canvas community, I also found this post, which discusses what went into creating this list of development priorities during an event held at Instructure headquarters.

There are some very exciting and needed features on this list. Most importantly, item #7 on the priority list is to develop this feature/idea request, with an estimate of about 6 sprints of work (in agile/scrum programming parlance).  This is excellent news, and I'm hopefully we could be seeing this feature in the near future...fingers crossed!

229188_homer-crosses-fingers.jpg

khirschmann1
Community Novice

Laura,