Assigning quizzes to a large class?

Jump to solution
WilliamASims
Community Member

Hi all,

I am an instructor for an in-person class of 200 undergraduate students.  I am trying to create multiple versions of a Canvas quiz to give to my students, and I noticed that this is very difficult to do with the current features on Canvas.  I do not have the prerequisites to submit new feature requests, so I am explaining the issues here.  The first bullet below addresses the lack of a "multiple version quiz" feature and the second  bullet below addresses the shortcomings of how Quizzes can currently be assigned to students.

• When creating a quiz through Canvas, I do not see a way to make multiple versions of the quiz so that not all students take the same quiz.  I found an archived feature request on this topic, and Canvas decided this feature would not be implemented.  Given the rise of online education and the use of online technology in in-person classes, I think some feature to allow multiple quiz versions needs to be implemented.  Perhaps allow Questions to pull a random question from a bank.

• The next best solution is to create multiple quizzes and assign them to different sets of students.  However, the assignment features do not make this easy.  The best way I can find to do this is to assign each student to a version of the quiz one by one, but that is very cumbersome for a large class.  You can assign quizzes to Sections, but all of my students are in one section and I cannot create custom sections.  You can easily create Groups of students, but you cannot assign quizzes to groups.

Hopefully, the issues are clear.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
JeffCampbell
Community Coach
Community Coach