How to Add Buttons to the Home Page and a few other Questions.....

Jump to solution
natsmy
Community Explorer

I'm sorry if my next few questions seem simplistic - I can't seem to be able to get anyone to answer them for me, including the online/phone Canvas support people.

1) I'm pretty new to Canvas and trying to make it work with new classes starting soon.  I would like to make a couple of buttons at the bottom of my home page (I hope that's what it is called - the thing that opens when students first open Canvas). They see the title of the course, some pictures, some blah, blah, blah introduction about the course that I have typed -- at the bottom of all of that, I would like to add a "Meet Your Instructor" button to tell them a little about myself, and one that says "Learning Modules" to take them directly to the modules.  

How do I add these buttons, and how do I add wording on top of these buttons?  IE, how do I get a background image and then the wording on top of it?  I understand how to link a document with my background hello type thing on it, but how do I make the actual button and then the wording that says Meet Your Instructor or Learning Modules?  (specifics if you can, please, I'm old, slow, and don't code).  Are there any other buttons that seem to be particularly important/necessary/good for students or that they like?

2) How on earth do you change those pictures on the home page, the ones right above where you put the title of the course?  I have tried and tried and they are all different sizes and shapes and it's a hot mess!

3) What is the Commons thing used for?

4) If you can do bulk changes in dates on assignments, why can't you do bulk changes in times?  Doesn't that completely defeat the purpose of changing the dates?  I have to manually go into each assignment after and change the time anyway, so what good is just changing the date?  Am I missing something?  Support tells me there is no way to change the time... is that correct?