Mediasite Player Window Size Frustrations and Feedback

Jump to solution
NinoCirrincione
Community Member

Hi all,

I'm an online student that has been using Canvas for about a year. I'd like to give some feedback and start a discussion about the mediasite player.

My experience with mediasite has been frustrating. The main problems I have are the viewing window size, the progress bar, and keyboard shortcuts (pause). I'm unable to maximize the video without losing functionality of the progress bar. The classes I take require a lot of note taking, it helps to have everything full screen and be able to pause and jump around the lecture. The pop-out player is not as user friendly as the regular player. 

For example, my professor uses video capture software. If I want to use the regular player, the video capture is inside the media player which is inside a boarder which is inside another boarder... So many windows...

Window^4.PNG

I'm unable to find a solution so my feedback is to improve the pop-out window functionality or improve the window size of the regular player. This would improve my experience.

Thoughts?

Nino,

Labels (1)
0 Likes
2 Solutions
Chris_Hofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there, @NinoCirrincione ...

To my knowledge, Mediasite is not a product native to Canvas, so I am not sure how much support that Community members will be able to provide.  In doing a bit of quick searching on the Internet, I found that Mediasite is made by a third-party company called Sonic Foundry.  Video Technology for Education, Video Conferences & Online Events (mediasite.com)  They would be the ones that would most-likely be able to provide support for you.  I know that there are Mediasite integrations that are compatible with Canvas.  You might want to try contacting them via this form: Contact us here at Mediasite for all your video needs| Mediasite...letting them know that Mediasite is integrated into your school's Canvas environment.