Starting from zilch, nada, nothing.

Jump to solution
jbchilds
Community Explorer

Colleagues and/or Vendors,

I need help.  I feel utterly lost.  This "Instructure Community" site is a maze and I cannot figure out where I am let alone where to go.

My school uses Canvas.  I had colleagues help me last year, but I know that I didn't even scratch the surface of what Canvas can do.  I feel anxious, sad, and frustrated because I don't know even the first step.  I have been teaching for twenty years.  I come from the time of pencils, paper, transparencies, stone knives, Clovis points, and bearskins.

Grateful for any help at all.  I mean it.  ANY help.

J Childs

0 Likes
5 Solutions
gnoack
Community Champion

Hi @jbchilds 

I've been there.  When I first needed to learn Canvas, I spent an hour each morning for two weeks just watching the tutorial videos linked on this page. 

Video Guide - Instructure Community (canvaslms.com)

I recommend you start with The Canvas Overview, then work through Assignments, Discussions, Files, Pages, Announcements, Course Home Page, Gradebook overview, Modules, People, quizzes, speedgrader, Course Settings, Courses: Creating and Management, and Rubrics.  The rest may or may not be pertinent to you.  This should give you a good overview. 

You might also try searching YouTube for "Getting Started with Canvas Instructure",  The Canvas LMS page might have some videos of value. CanvasLMS - YouTube

This next link will take you to a page with dozens of step-by-step tutorials.  You might find these helpful, too. 

Instructor Guide - Instructure Community (canvaslms.com)

I hope that helps. 

View solution in original post

Chris_Hofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there, @jbchilds ...

I'm glad to see that you've already been getting some good tips and resources to help you get started creating a course for your students.  I'll also chime in with some tips and tricks that you might want to explore...