UI/UX Customisations

Jump to solution
TaylanDogan
Community Explorer

Hello there,

I am a multimedia designer with a Canvas administrator account at a college and have been creating and uploading course content for our college along with a team of lecturers and designers. Recently, a number of fundamental modifications have been asked from me that seemed quite hard to achieve, if not impossible, without source code manipulation. I have already been utilising simple custom CSS and JS snippets for removing or altering buttons or small sections that have unique class names in Canvas. I was wondering if the following modifications can be done with the tools provided in Canvas including custom CSS and JS or they are possible only with the help of the low-level approaches such as tailored source code or writing extensions. Below are some of them:

• Remove the initial pages of quizzes that show the title, the ‘answer the following questions’ message, time limit and due date, attempt number, and ‘begin’ button.
  • Remove confirm submission pop up window and results window (New Quizzes - essay question).
  • Fix the special characters with macron (in Māori language) such as ‘ā, ē, ī, ō, ū’ that look bold and slightly different in the quiz titles in some browsers.
  • (The assignments will be submitted online with file uploads) – remove ‘Canvas files’ option and only keep the file uploading box.
  • Remove ‘try again’ option/button in Assignments.
  • Change some of the elements in the top row: Remove attempts dropbox, change ’submitted’ to ‘successfully submitted’, etc.
  • Change the button from 'submit quiz' to 'submit survey' and show a custom 'successfully submitted' screen.

I am totally open to using any external tools you would suggest in order to have the flexibility required to achieve the desired results. Any other advice is much appreciated. Please ask for further information or screenshots if needed.