Extend Course for Individual Student

(13)
As an administrator, I would like the ability to extend a course past the course conclude date for an individual student, so that the student can make up the work for an Incomplete Grade. For example, at our institution, an Incomplete Grade may be issued to a student under extenuating circumstances (i.e. severe injury, death in the family, etc.). A student who receives an Incomplete Grade is expected to make up the course work within a few weeks of the actual course end date. As it is now, extending the course end date extends it for every member of the course, which can cause confusion for students who have successfully completed all of the objectives for the course. Enabling an administrator to selectively extend a course for a specific student would assist faculty in managing coursework for students who undergo difficult times during the regular period of instruction.

🔎 This idea has been archived. While this idea isn't open for comments, it is an important part of Instructure’s idea conversations and development process. Contributions like this are valuable as Instructure prioritizes work on new or existing features.

39 Comments
A10001506
Community Novice

Great idea.

snugent
Community Champion

@jason_hill  You can do this but it requires some manual work. What we do is create a section manually and move the student in the new section with the extended dates. The instructor will need to update due dates for the section. We then remove all the other students from course; however, with the new course restriction (per Canvas Release Notes) after concluding a course you may not have to do this. It works but like I said it is a manual process and if you have many incompletes this could be an issue. I would like to see this process automated so when the official paperwork is done in the sis the section is created in the same Canvas course where the student's work is already.

glparker
Community Champion

Hi snugent,