[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
a_valero_haro
Community Novice

The work around to be able to "submit on behalf of a student" is as follows: Create a group assignment. Create groups for each single student and join the group. Submit the assignment on behalf of the group. Leave the group. Repeat.

timothy_maw
Community Champion

I was at a face to face Canvas admin meeting last week and saw a preview of Assignments 2.0 and it appears this feature will be part of that. This is exciting news and I'm hoping that the process for Assignments 2.0 can be quick.

timothy_french6
Community Novice

I'd love to be able to bulk import scripts that have been scanned - like 100 English Students complete an exam. 'Acting As' for 100 students is literally the worst.

josh_langston
Community Explorer