Submission comments appear in Inbox indicator

(6)
As an teacher, I would like the numbered indicator next to the Inbox link include how many unread Submission comments I have. Although I keep my Canvas to email notifications turned on, a large number of our faculty turn off their email notifications. (As a Canvas admin at our institution, I hear how often this occurs.) They manually check the Inbox for submission comments.

This feature request fulfillment may also include displaying submission comments with Unread Messages in the Inbox, similar to Add Inbox + Submission Comments Filter in Conversations .

Excelsior!

72 Comments
Community Explorer

I must not have seen the outcry against the old conversations model which incorporated all communication (messages and submission comments) in the same inbox. In the old conversation system, I could comment to a student's question in the inbox or in speedgrader and that message would show up in either place. If I was in conversations and saw a question or comment that the student made on an assignment, I had a link in the conversation to go directly to the assignment. I had one place to look always for any kind of direct communication with a student, and under the old functionality, I could quickly change my sort to look at all communication by a given student--which gave me a full term view of all communication I had with that one student to see if the same questions were coming up or if I had given the same replies before.