Auto Save in Rich Content Editor

This is badly needed. We have had several people lost content they were writing in discussion posts and it would be useful when creating pages as well. Even here in the community Jive has this feature and I love it. Canvas needs it too!!

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For more information, please read through Canvas Release Notes (2020-03-21) 

58 Comments
timothy_maw
Community Champion

I can't remember how many times this happened to me as a student. It was really frustrating as I would have to start over several times. Now as an instructional designer, I have accidentally deleted information as I've built assignments and quizzes and had to start over. Luckily, I've gotten much more careful but I tend to save more often than I should have to. 

woods437
Community Novice

This would be extremely helpful. I've lost a few drafts because it doesn't save as I'm typing. It would help also because I wouldn't have to go back and forth from a word document.

demarco_r01
Community Novice

I can't tell you how many discussion replies I have lost this semester alone...and this is my first semester of using Canvas.  This is very frustrating and time-consuming to not have this basic feature.

tobinje1
Community Novice