Course Templates - How are they being used?

Jump to solution
parm
Community Participant

Hi all,

I'm an instructional designer. I'm curious about how others are using the Canvas Course Template feature. I took a look to see the differences with Blueprints, Commons and Templates (https://tr-learncanvas.s3.amazonaws.com/docs/CourseContentDistributionComparison.pdf) and I can see the difference from the Blueprints and the Commons. 

I'm trying to understand why and when someone would choose to use the Course templates, rather than just using a regular course shell  which is set-up as template and copied into new courses.

Also I'm curious about how others are using it? Are folks just creating general templates with institute/department level elements (such as menu items/sequence and general course admin information) or are you using it to build out a course, that instructors can them customize the content?

thanks,

Parm

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
ColtonSwapp
Instructure
Instructure

Hello @parm 

I see that you are asking about Course templates and how they are being used. Here is what I have seen from my own personal experience. 

Templates are generally used for new courses being created in an account or sub-account. What happens is that when a new course is created in the specific account or sub-account, it will be populated with content from the template selected for use. Some schools use this to automatically apply module content(Pages) in their newly created courses for general school related information and elements such as contacting the local helpdesk, important dates for the semester(holidays), or school specific links and such.