Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jsc
Community Contributor

Is it correct, that attachement disappears when replying to a Canvas message from Outlook?

Jump to solution

As a teacher I send a message through Canvas to my students. It gives them a notification in their own email software, lets say Outlook in this case. A student replay to the notification (notifications@instructure.com) and attach a file.

I can read the answer in Canvas, but I cannot see the attachement. 

Am I doing something wrong? Any solution?

Thanks!

Jeppe

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @jsc .  You are not missing anything.  This is a current limitation in how messages are passed back from external email clients to the Canvas Inbox.  I reviewed this response with a similar question, Responding with an attachment to a forwarded conversation.  It appears that the idea liked in this page, https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/4746-attachments-to-inbox-from-external-email" modifiedtitle="..., is in product radar so perhaps this functionality will be added.  I don't know of a way around this other to request students not reply to messages forwarded to Outlook with attachments but to post those documents in Canvas directly.

Best wishes!

View solution in original post

4 Replies
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach