Require specific grade on assignments to pass course

Jump to solution
TommyTaylor
Community Member

Let me preface this by saying I'm new to Canvas -- like only a few days in, so please forgive this potentially dumb question, but is there a way to designate multiple assignments as "passing grade is required to pass the entire course"? More specifically, I have 5 assessments that need to go into a course, all of which the student must achieve at least 70% in order to pass the course. For example, a student passes every other assignment, passes the first 2 (of 5) assessments, but fails the third. Is it possible to set it up such that they do not pass the course? 

0 Likes
1 Solution
ColtonSwapp
Instructure
Instructure

Hello @TommyTaylor 

Thanks for posting this in the Canvas Community! 

I wanted to welcome you and let you know that this is a really great question! 

There is not a way that I know of to set up course and make it so that a designated grade is required to "pass" a course. This is usually left up to institutions to determine at the end of the course term or semester and is usually based on the grading schemes used.