cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Team
Community Team

All things API

Have a question about the Canvas APIs? Have a cool API integration you'd be willing to share? If so, please post here.

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
271 Replies
Highlighted
Community Member

Hi, I am completely new to this. I am actually an Admin for our institution and not a developer but I would like to learn some basics about APIs. Could you recommend some introductory material I can review to understand them better? Thank you in advance!

Highlighted

Katerina.... 

I think the most intuitive thing is to play with URLs right in the browser, for instance, try going to the URL:

https://yourinstance.instructure.com/api/v1/courses

(Make sure you are logged into Canvas in another browser tab first)

You will get a list of courses you are enrolled in.  It will look a bit cryptic, the encoding is called JSON, but it is still very human readable.

You can see how to build these URL requests by looking at Canvas's API reference:

Canvas LMS REST API Documentation

Pick a programming language you like, and most of them have an easy way of reading JSON. 

Easiest way to get started is to think about writing custom reports.  A simple command line report that creates a .csv file is not many lines of code.  I recommend sticking to "GET" requests (read-only)  till you get comfortable.  If you make requests other than "GET" requests make sure you test on the beta or test sites first.

Best to pick a programming language first (many non-programmers like powershell).  If someone at your institution writes code, talk to them and consider using whatever they use.  Then read up on how to make REST API calls and handle JSON in that language....  most likely you can find some code you can modify.

Josh

Highlighted