What languages does Canvas support?

Document created by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Apr 19, 2017Last modified by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Jun 20, 2020
Version 55Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Language preferences can be set by the user, by the instructor in a specific course, or by the admin for the entire account. However, depending on the Canvas area, some language preferences can be overridden.

If no language is set, Canvas defaults to English (United States).

Canvas supports the following languages:

  • Arabic (العربية) *
  • Armenian (Հայերեն)
  • Cantonese (traditional Chinese) (繁體中文)
  • Danish (Dansk)
  • Dutch (Nederlands)
  • English—Australia
  • English—United Kingdom
  • English—United States
  • Finnish (Suomi)
  • French (Français)
  • French—Canadian (Français Canada)
  • German (Deutsch)
  • Greek (Ελληνικά)
  • Haitian Creole (Kreyòl Ayisyen)
  • Hebrew (עִברִית)*
  • Hungarian (Magyar)
  • Icelandic (Íslenska)
  • Italian (Italiano)
  • Japanese (日本語)
  • Korean (한국말)
  • Mandarin (simplified Chinese) (简体中文)
  • Maori (Reo Māori)
  • Norwegian—Bokmål (Norsk Bokmål)
  • Norwegian—Nynorsk (Norsk Nynorsk)
  • Persian (فارسی)*
  • Polish (Polski)
  • Portuguese (Português)
  • Portuguese—Brazil (Português do Brasil)
  • Russian (Pyсский)
  • Spanish (Español)
  • Swedish (Svenska)
  • Turkish (Türkçe)
  • Ukrainian (український)
  • Welsh (Cymraeg)

* These languages support right-to-left interface functionality.

You are here
Table of Contents > General Information > What languages does Canvas support?
9 people found this helpful