How do I delete a conversation as an instructor?

Document created by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Oct 7, 2017Last modified by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Nov 16, 2019
Version 40Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

You can delete conversations from your Inbox when you no longer need them.

You can also delete individual messages from a conversation instead of deleting the entire thread.

Open Inbox

Open Inbox

In Global Navigation, click the Inbox link.

Select Conversation

Select Conversation

Select the conversation.

Select Multiple Conversations

Select Multiple Conversations

To select multiple messages to delete, click the message checkbox or press the command key (Mac) or the control key (Windows) while clicking each message you want to select. You can also click the checkbox or use the same keyboard command to deselect a message.

To select all messages, press the command + A keys (Mac) or the control + A keys (Windows).

To select a range of messages, click the first message you want to select, hold down the Shift key, and then click the last message you want to select. All messages between the first and the last messages will be selected.

Delete Conversation

Delete Conversation

Click the Delete icon.

Note: You can only delete your copy of the conversation. You cannot delete the conversation for all recipients.

Delete Multiple Conversations

  Delete Multiple Conversations

To delete multiple conversations, select the message checkbox or press the command key (Mac) or control key (Windows) while clicking each message you want to delete [1]. Then click the Delete icon [2].

Confirm Deletion

Confirm Deletion

Select the OK button. All messages from that conversation will be deleted.

Note: New messages sent to you by any participant in a deleted conversation will still appear in your Inbox.

You are here
Table of Contents > Inbox > How do I delete a conversation as an instructor?
1 person found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes