If your instructor allows, you can edit and delete your own discussion posts. If the edit or delete option does not appear, your instructor has restricted this setting in your course.
Note: This setting does not affect discussions in course groups.
Open Options Icon
Each of your posts have a settings icon with edit and delete options. Click the Options icon on the post you want to modify.
To edit a post, click the Edit link.
Note: If the edit or delete option does not appear, your instructor has restricted this setting in your course.
Make your edits in the Rich Content Editor . When you are finished, click the Done button .
Note: If you have permission to attach files to discussion replies, editing a reply also allows you to remove an attachment.
Canvas will indicate the post has been edited. The text will include your name, and the date and time the post was edited. This entry cannot be removed.
If you delete a discussion reply with other course user replies attached, Canvas shows a Deleted by notification. The notification includes your name and the date and time the post was deleted. This entry cannot be removed.
However, if you delete a reply that does not have any course user replies attached, Canvas will not display a Deleted by notification.
Please note that your instructor can see that you deleted your replies in the discussion.
View Restricted Options
If your instructor has restricted the option to edit or delete your discussion replies, the options will display as disabled.