How do I delete a course in an account as an admin?

Document created by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Apr 19, 2017Last modified by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Dec 8, 2018
Version 34Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Once you delete a course, the course will be completely removed from your institution's account and will not be viewable by you, prior students, or the account administrator. We do not recommend deleting courses (even concluded ones), especially if the course contains content and student data, because you may need to access that information at a later date.

If you only want to remove the course from Courses & Groups in the Global Navigation Bar, you can change the course end date, or conclude the course instead.

Notes:

  • Before you delete a course, make sure you have a record of your Course ID number in case you need to restore it. You can locate your Course ID number at the end of your course URL (i.e. canvas.instructure.com/courses/XXXXXX).
  • Courses are not deleted form an account unless done so by you or another user at your institution.

Open Account

Open Account

In Global Navigation, click the Admin link [1], then click the name of the account [2].

Open Courses

Open Courses

In Course Navigation, click the Courses link.

Note: When you open an account, the account defaults to the Courses page.

Find Course

Find Course

Use the filter and search options to find the course in the account.

Open Settings

  Open Settings

In the search results, click the Settings link for the course.

Permanently Delete Course

Permanently Delete Course

Click the Delete this Course link.

Confirm Deletion

Confirm Deletion

Click the Delete Course button.

You are here
Table of Contents > Courses and Sections > How do I delete a course in an account as an admin?

Attachments

    Outcomes