How do I delete a course in an account?

Document created by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Apr 19, 2017Last modified by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Jul 14, 2018
Version 27Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Once you delete a course, the course will be completely removed from your institution's account and will not be viewable by you, prior students, or the account administrator. We do not recommend deleting courses (even concluded ones), especially if the course contains content and student data, because you may need to access that information at a later date.

If you only want to remove the course from Courses & Groups in the Global Navigation Bar, you can change the course end date, or conclude the course instead.

Note: Before you delete a course, make sure you have a record of your Course ID number in case you need to restore it. You can locate your Course ID number at the end of your course URL (i.e. canvas.instructure.com/courses/XXXXXX).

Open Account

Open Account

In Global Navigation, click the Admin link [1], then click the name of the account [2].

Open Courses

Open Courses

In Course Navigation, click the Courses link.

Note: When you open an account, the account defaults to the Courses page.

Find Course

Find Course

Use the filter and search options to find the course in the account.

Open Settings

  Open Settings 

In the search results, click the Settings link for the course.

Permanently Delete Course

Permanently Delete Course

Click the Delete this Course link.

Confirm Deletion

Confirm Deletion

Click the Delete Course button.

You are here
Table of Contents > Courses and Sections > How do I delete a course in an account?

Attachments

    Outcomes