If you allow students to edit and delete their own discussion replies, you cannot view previous versions of their reply.
When a discussion is closed for comments students cannot edit or delete their replies.
In Course Navigation, click the Discussions link.
Click the Settings icon.
Edit Discussion Settings
Check the Edit and delete their own replies checkbox . To save discussion settings, click the Save Settings button .
Note: Unchecking this option will restrict students from editing and deleting their own Discussion replies. This permission affects replies in new discussion topics, discussion replies, and discussions within course groups.
View Student Restriction
When you restrict the ability for students to edit or delete their own replies, students see the Disabled label next to the Edit and Delete options in the Options menu.
Note: If the ability for students to edit or delete their own replies is restricted in a course with Discussions Redesign enabled, the Edit and Delete options do not display in the Options menu.