You may be able to deactivate an enrollment in your course within your course Settings in Canvas. An inactive enrollment retains prior activity in a course but does not allow the student to access course content. This status can be used for students who do not pay tuition or drop the course at a future date. Inactive students do not appear in any messaging lists within the course and cannot be added to a group. Grades for inactive students still display in the Gradebook and can be edited like other students.
Any previous course activity for the student is not removed from the course. If a student had previously participated in a discussion or group before being deactivated, the inactive status displays next to that student's name in discussions and groups. However, students can view the student's name but will not know the student is inactive.
To see course participation for an inactive enrollment compared to other enrollment types, view the Canvas Enrollment Status Comparison PDF.
Note: Enrollments may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If an enrollment includes an SIS ID, you cannot deactivate an enrollment from the course. Additionally, deactivating enrollments is a course permission. If you cannot deactivate enrollments in your course, your institution has restricted this feature.
In the search field , search for the name of the user. You can also filter users by role in the Roles drop-down menu .
Click the user's Options icon , then select the Deactivate User link .
If you want to re-activate the user at a later time, click the user's Options icon , then select the Re-activate User link .