How do I deactivate an enrollment in a course?

Document created by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Apr 19, 2017Last modified by Canvas Doc Team Employee on Apr 22, 2017
Version 5Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

You may be able to deactivate an enrollment in your course within your course Settings in Canvas. An inactive enrollment retains prior activity in a course but does not allow the student to access course content. This status can be used for students who do not pay tuition or drop the course at a future date. Inactive students do not appear in any messaging lists within the course and cannot be added to a group. Grades for inactive students still display in the Gradebook and can be edited like other students.

To see course participation for an inactive enrollment compared to other enrollment types, view the Canvas Enrollment Status Comparison PDF.

Note: Enrollments may be added by your institution's student information system (SIS). If an enrollment includes an SIS ID, you cannot deactivate an enrollment from the course. Additionally, deactivating enrollments is a course permission. If you cannot deactivate enrollments in your course, your institution has restricted this feature.

Open People

Open People

In Course Navigation, click the People link.

Locate User

Locate User

In the search field [1], search for the name of the user. You can also filter users by role in the Roles drop-down menu [2].

Deactivate User

  Deactivate User 

Click the user's Settings icon [1], then select the Deactivate User link [2].

Confirm Deactivation

Confirm Deactivation

Click the OK button.

Reactivate User

  Reactivate User 

If you want to re-activate the user at a later time, click the user's Settings icon [1], then select the Re-activate User link [2].

You are here
Table of Contents > People > How do I deactivate an enrollment in a course?

Attachments

    Outcomes